Part 1 Project 2 – Exercise 2: Observing shadow using blocks of tone

I tied this exercise several times on paper “with tooth”, as I understand the term. I used watercolour paper and found it difficult to acheive a smooth effect. Perhaps this is the point?

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

 

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

As I tried I was reminded of Mary Davidson’s discussion of the method used by Seurat, in her book Contempory Drawing. She says it is a difficult method and requires great patience. She copied his drawing of his mother. My still life is so much simpler a composition, but still I found it very difficult. Confusing to my eye to concentrate on the negative spaces, and I din’t acheive this at all, I don’t think. I have also outlined some of the shadows, which is “wrong”.

I am happier with the drawing I did on smoother paper. By this time I had become more confident with the shapes, and so it flowed easier.

AMB

Leave a comment